Sleepy time success?

Standard

So I woke up this morning and I couldn’t remember whether or not I had to get up in the middle of the night to soothe Jackson back to sleep. I got a little excited thinking that my diligence over the last three nights has paid off but I asked Rob just to make sure. Yes! I actually did get a decent night’s sleep. Here’s what I did for three nights in a row:
I put Georgia in the other room for initial bedtime so Jackson wouldn’t wake her up by screaming or crawling on her face. I put Jackson in the crib and rubbed his back. When he sat up, I kissed his little head and left the room. He cried. For ten minutes. Then I went back in the room. As soon as I came in he knew the drill (by the second night) and laid down for me to rub his back. This happened about two more times until the back rubbing finally put him to sleep. When he would wake up periodically throughout the night, I would not take him out of the damn crib! To all non-parents out there; easier said than done. The first two nights I had to go in about every two to three hours but he was starting to catch on and falling back to sleep easier. So night three I only had to soothe him once and then I got to sleep in my bed with my husband, uninterrupted. Epic.
This all may seem a little boring for non-parents out there but I just had to share something that worked with other parents. That’s part of the reason I started this blog in the first place…that and, just like millions of other bloggers, I apparently like to see myself talk.
So. For parents and non-parents alike:
Go The **** to Sleep as narrated by Samuel L. Jackson

Leave a Reply

